2019 AGM

New Location:Inn at the Quay

Our meeting day began with refreshments,Inn socializing
and a call to order at 10:00 A.M. Albert Michael, a member and resident of New Westminster gave us a brief history of the city, noting it was the original Capital City of British Columbia. He informed us of the various points of interest located near Inn At The Quay where the meeting was being held.
He then introduced our guest from Toronto, Martha Foster, Chair of RTO/ERO. She brought greetings and updates from the National office in Toronto.

Lionel Brathwaite
Earlier this year at one of our executive meetings Lionel had made official is decision to step down from his role of Unit President and alternate years as District President;
roles in which he had served for over a decade.
Imants, who served on the executive with Lionel for many of those years, read his tribute
describing some of the memorable experiences. Lionel was invited to the podium where
Shannon Redmond read and presented Lionel with a ‘Letter of Appreciation’ from the
board of Directors in Toronto. He was present with an RTO lapel pin and gift certificates
from our District.

Dissolution of District 42 Units
Larry Hunt distributed and spoke to the rationale to dissolve the Units. Since the remaining two executive members had resigned and on-going efforts to recruit new executive had been unsuccessful, District members were informed in writing of the consideration to dissolve the Units. Larry made the following motion:

“Be it resolved that District 42, Unit 1 and Unit 2 be dissolved and the Units’ assets become
District 42 assets.”
The motion was seconded by Marnie Burns.

After an opportunity for discussion a vote was taken and passed unanimously.
Note: The dissolution of the Units in no way affects membership in District 42 or Extended
Health Care coverage.

District 42 Executive 2019-2020

The following members stood for the following
positions and were elected unopposed.
President – Janice Wasik
Vice-President – Shannon Redmond
Treasurer – Bev Wilson
Secretary – Wendy Windsor
Goodwill – Kathy Bell
Communications – Imants Straumers
Social Committee – Audrey Newton.